Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called Personal Photos. Make your own badge here.

8:24 p.m. - 2005-02-08
Our Amphibian Friends! Photos 4/16/2007
Toads have been my most recent obsession. Well, last summer that is. Currently I received my made-to-order "Save the Toads" sweatshirt from www.neighborhoodies.com.

eastern_american_toad_440

You see, amphibians are some of the animals hardest hit by ecological changes. Their permeable skins allow pollution to enter their bodies, making amphibian species especially at risk for extinction!

This is very sad, coupled with the fact that amphibians are really cute!

Has anyone seen any salamanders lately? I'd love to run into some of those guys. When I was a kid there were Tiger salamanders (Ambystoma tigrinum) living in my aunt's sandy basement.

Tiger_salamander

Did you know that all toads are actually frogs?! Toads are a group of frogs that only use bodies of water to reproduce. Hence toads bodies are stubbier, with shorter legs better adapted for movement on solid ground. Toads also have bumps behind their eyes, which are poison glands! Some snakes will eat toads, but because of the poison other predators avoid them. Another difference is in egg-laying. Frogs eggs are laid in clumps, Toads eggs in strings; although there is one group of toads that gives birth to live babies!

Ah, but now in the frigid winter, what are our dear amphibians doing? Toads chill out under logs and such, and stay there a month later than frogs. Then, toads have to make the sometimes treacherous journey to water to hook up with hotties. (Spring romance!) Frogs stay under the mud in lakes, so when they come out of hibernation, the love can start right away!

Like toads, salamanders hibernate on land and have to travel to water to breed. There is more work for the female as she will wrap each of her eggs (up to 300!)in an individual underwater leaf.

bullfrog001

So this spring, keep your eye out for these smooth and bumpy-skinned creatures. And don't feel guilty if you feel like joining in the romantic amphibian calls down at the lake!

cheesily,
Wendell!

|

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!