Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called Personal Photos. Make your own badge here.

8:45 p.m. - 2005-09-17
CT, Marmot Announcement, Tender Toads.*Now with pictures!*
Hello, all of you animal-loving internet surfers!

I hope that was a cheesy enough greeting for everyone. What a busy couple of weeks I've had! Traveling, the beginning of skool, preparing for a performance...it's been crazy.

But critters have been sighted. Oh, yes, critters have been sighted!

On Labor Day weekend, R and I joined D and CH on a trip to Connecticut! Firstly, I've never been to the East Coast before. Secondly, it was great to go on a vacation! Thirdly, it was fun to hang out with those hotties! We looked vainly for Connecticut wildlife from our rental car. Squirrels and bunnies were sighted, and gulls as we approached the ocean. While seaside, we did see some cormorants swimming around. The wild Connecticut beaver was not located, even though we were hoping for a sighting. But we did try our first raw oysters. I wondered how long it takes the oysters to to grow to slurpable size...aren't you curious? Expect an oyster creature feature soon!

My second announcement has to do with the very first Critter Corner subject, that is, the groundhog. I've decided I do not like our terminology for this eastern American marmot. Therefore I declare that all groundhogs/woodchucks found east of the Rockies be referred to as marmots! If "marmot" is a good enough word for "The Dude" in "The Big Lebowski", it is good enough for all mankind.

Some of these Minnesota marmots can be found right in the heart of the Twin Cities. I've spotted them in the field east of the big UPS depot on Broadway Avenue, just a few blocks west of Highway 280. On the same evening that I spotted those Lauderdale (?) marmots, more were foraging off the 35W south exit for Washington Avenue. Keep your eyes peeled, everyone! Long live the marmot!

In other marmot news, I spotted some marmot fur garments in a recent Vanity Fair magazine. Watch out, dudes!

The other evening I was once again heading to Highway 280 via Broadway Avenue. OF COURSE I was peering intently into the marmot field, where I saw creatures...but not marmots! Instead, two skunks were walking along together! Yay!

So you can expect to learn more about that stinkiest member of the weasel family soon!

And now, the piece de resistance: The other evening R and I experienced a true Twilight of the Toads. (Toaderdammerung?!) Anyway, we were walking along our favorite lake in Richfield. First, we saw some chipmunks playing grab-ass. (Chipmunk write up later!) Walking along the forested path, we began seeing little toads. Many seemed to be trying to scale the railroad tie that was acting as a pathway marker. We decided we needed to invent a toad tunnel to allow for better passage through such obstacles!

As we approached the gravel path to the lake-bridging piers, many more toads could be seen! We squealed with glee, and trod carefully amongst the toads! Most were small, ranging from nickel- sized guys to quarter-sized. But larger, two inch long big ones could be seen hopping into the grass at the side of the path. We wondered if perhaps the older toads were giving the young ones advice. Or maybe it was a big hook up festival, who knows?

Anyway, it definitely rated quite high on our list of Romantic Dates Involving Animals. (Insert filthy joke here!)

Wait, there's more! After returning to the R T and M abode, R was outside grilling. All of a sudden he ran in, crying, "Wendy, come out here, there's a giant toad!" Indeed, a fat one was hanging out by the grill! Fortuitously, R had just received his new digital camera in the mail that afternoon. We decided there was no better opportunity to check out its nighttime photography capability than to take a picture of Mr. Toad! I think the toad liked the attention.

R's roomie T had been dismayed by the holes being eaten in his basil plants. Taking the flashlight and camera, R and I carefully approached the herb garden, and saw...SLUGS GONE WILD! Photos were taken, and we removed the slugs from the basil, and placed them in front of the toad. We don't think the toad ate any of them,though.

I'm sure all of your hearts are beating pretty hard with all of this excitement!Whew, all right. I think that's all the critter stories I'll share right now.

But feel free to email me and share any animal tales you might have!

AND I saw a vole today,
Wendell!

|

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!