Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called Personal Photos. Make your own badge here.

9:46 p.m. - 2005-05-31
Red-winged Blackbird.
Fire!

Critter readers, I want to let you know that R and I witnessed history in the making, last week in Richfield! We were talking on the phone last Tuesday night, when R exclaimed, "Whoa, there's a huge column of smoke...I'm going to investigate!" Indeed, as I approached South Minneapolis I could see it. Turns out the marsh/park near his house was on fire; all the dead cattails were aflame! En fuego!

So we rode our bikes over there, joining other witnesses. A firetruck was spraying the flames. We worried for the creatures who might be hurt in the conflagration! Many red-winged blackbirds were shouting their annoyance, and I realized I needed to feature that bird in the Critter Corner!

In my research, I discovered that the red-winged blackbird (Agelaius phoeniceus) is THE MOST ABUNDANT NORTH AMERICAN BIRD. Did you know this?

rwbb

Red-winged blackbirds are most commonly seen in or near freshwater marshes. They are about seven inches long, and the males are easily identified by the patch of red and yellow on their wing. They also have a distinctive call. Female red-winged blackbirds are brown and striped, similar in appearance to juvenile birds. (I didn't know this either.)

These birds like to eat seeds, and less often, insects.

Red-winged blackbird love is rather interesting!

Warning: polygamy!

Yes, the male blackbird is a total playa. In his territory there might be anywhere from two to six females whom he will impregnate! The females will hook up with other males, too, though, as they often brood two to three times per summer.

So, to attract these ladies, the male red-winged blackbird does a mating dance involving spreading his wings and tail. And, if he's steppin' in another males territory, the bird can cover his distinctive red markings to avoid conflict!

Female blackbirds lay three to four eggs in shallow nests. Both parents are fierce defenders of the nest. After ten to twelve days, the eggs hatch, and only two weeks later, the babies are flying! It takes three years for the young to develop full adult plumage.

After the blackbirds are done with procreation for the season, they will appear more often in fields to feed during the day. Males and females stay separate during these day trips, although they will co-mingle with other blackbird species. At night they return to the wetlands. August marks a return to the marsh while the birds do a pre-migration molt!

Considered a short-distance migrant, red-winged blackbirds fill the US and southern Canada during the summer, and then travel south to Alabama, Mississippi, and other states of the deep south for the winter. (And the soul food.) Males lead the migration, and come back earlier to set up their territories.

I hope you enjoyed this write up about a commonly seen bird! This summer I will endeavor to spot the brown females of the species.

xo,
Wendell

|

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!