Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called Personal Photos. Make your own badge here.

11:03 p.m. - 2005-02-04
pigeon poop!

This Thursday I experienced a pigeon's poop up close. On my shoulder, that is!

Thankfully the waste fell there, instead of on my...face or something. And it was semi-solid, so I could wipe the bulk away. My jacket is an easily-washed goodwill trench, which was another plus.

So let us discuss today that noble bird, the pigeon. (I like that word). One interesting thing about them is that domesticated pigeons are a blue-gray color. But, unlike other domesticated animals, wild pigeons revert back to other colors in a span of a few generations. Cornell University is researching this phenomenon. Birds, reptiles, amphibians and some fish excrete out of one opening, called the "cloaca".

"Cloaca" is also the title of an art installation by the Belgian artist Wim Delvoye, in which food is "fed" into a series of glass tubes, with waste being the end result.

Cool!

|

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!