Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called Personal Photos. Make your own badge here.

1:36 p.m. - 2005-02-02
Marmot Day
Welcome to Wendell's Critter Corner!

And, Happy Marmot Day! That is, Groundhog's Day. For the groundhog (or woodchuck) is a member of the marmot family: Marmota monax!

marmotfam.jpg

Groundhogs live in holes and communicate with loud "cheeps". Apparently some people keep them as pets, although they hibernate in the winter.(The Groundhogs.)

Other North American marmots include the Yellow-Bellied Marmot (M. flaviventris) and the Hoary Marmot (M. caligata), which live in rockier environments out west.

I'm not a scientist but like learning random animal facts. The purpose of this diary is to share critter info. Also to placate my roommate, D, who thought I should do it. Additionally, I will write other, random stuff.

Once again, Happy Marmot Day!

Wendell!

|

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!