Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called Personal Photos. Make your own badge here.

9:16 p.m. - 2005-12-03
Paris Hilton's Critter.
Yikes! I just had a critter close encounter AT WORK! It's true, I was sitting here at one of the computer desks, which is separated from another desk by a cubby of shelves. I noticed a movement: Yes, a little mouse was sticking its nose out of a stack of papers!

I AM SO EXCITED! Unfortunately I have to admit that I did not behave like a serious animal observer. No, I screamed like a soprano (well, that I can't help,) and jumped out of my chair!

Hopefully I will be more calm if the mouse returns. In the meantime, I made sure my apple core "missed" the garbage can. Rock on, little mice! Eat all of the stupid files!

Ah, nature. Beautiful giant fluffy flakes of snow fell today. R and I slept in and considered going to the Original Pancake House (where I went this summer with JS, CN, KB and CK?...was that it?). Instead R and I went to the Perkins down the street.

I've decided that perhaps I can relax my rule on writing about North American critters, especially when an animal receives widespread national attention. By this, I mean "Baby Luv", Paris Hilton's pet kinkajou.

Here's a picture from www.nrtonline.co.uy/zoopage/enci/kinkajou My first introduction to this furry mammal was on the kid's show "Zoboomafoo", mentioned in my write up on anteaters.

But kinkajous (Potus flavus), also called honeybears, are actually related to raccoons. There are eighteen other members of the Procyonidae family, including coatis, ringtails and cacomistle. Some scientists also place the Chinese red panda (Ailurus) into this family, while others exclude it, making Procyonidae a New World family.

There are several varieties of kinkajous, which vary in color and size depending on distribution. Their range is from Mexico to Brazil, where they live in the tropical rainforest canopy. Kinkajous are rarely seen on the ground.

Kinkajous have a long, slender body, measuring sixteen to 22 inches long. Their fur is mostly dark golden brown, but there are gray varieties as well. Kinkajous are the only member of Procyonidae that possess a prehensile tail, which works as a fifth "hand". Unlike some monkeys, however, kinkajous won't hold onto their food with their tail. The tongues of these furry guys are five inches long! As kinkajous eat mostly fruit, this comes in handy for licking up sweet juice, as well as finding honey. Even though these animals are in the carnivore family, kinkajous mostly eat fruit. They are important pollinators and seed dispersers in the forest. Occasionally they will eat insects, bird eggs and baby birds. Kinkajous rely mostly on fruit for their water supply, and will eat upside down so as not to waste any fruit juice! They can also find water in tree hollows and collected in leaves.

Honeybears have an excellent sense of touch, like their cousin the raccoon, and can be seen dipping their little hands into juice and licking it off. But the nocturnal kinkajou has very poor vision. It is believed that they cannot see color. They rely on scent to find fruit, and also to communicate with one another. There are hairless scent glands located on either side of their mouth, and on their throat and belly. Kinkajous also make a variety of sounds.

In the wild kinkajous do not socialize much, but come together for mating when females are in heat. This occurs once every three months. Interested males sniff the females neck and bite at her, and while making love, the male rubs the female's sides with two exposed bony bumps on his wrists! The female's wristbumps are fur-covered. Hmmm. Anyway, after about 120 days, one to two little baby kinkajous are born! If danger approaches, the mother will carry the baby upside down to her belly, and when she clutches a tree trunk the infant is totally protected. Most kinkajou births occur between December and April, and the babies are weaned three to five months later. Males mature faster than females, and are ready for procreation at eighteen months. Females take about two and a half years to reach sexual maturity.

Apparently kinkajous make great pets. They are gentle, clean, scentless and playful. (And so fuzzy-cute bunny snuggly!) While they can't be litter trained, kinkajous usually pick one or two spots to make waste, which then can be outfitted with mats or buckets to make for easier clean up. Before purchasing a kinkajou it's important to remember that they require over 50 lbs of fruit a month, housing, and a temperature that never gets below 70 degrees. Also they are very hard to find commercially and cost anywhere from $1800 to $3000 dollars! In addition, it is important to find out if you can legally keep a kinkajou in your state. (I think I read that Paris Hilton was having a problem with this in CA?)

Well, I hope you've enjoyed this entry about Paris' new companion (now that Paris II and Tinkerbell are...out?) I will have to list the kinkajou as yet another creature I need for a pet.

That's hot, Wendell!

|

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!