Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called Personal Photos. Make your own badge here.

11:52 p.m. - 2005-11-08
Update, St. Lucia *New Jewel Photo 11/15/06*
Critter lovers,

The scenes of gray days and skeletal trees are hinting towards wintertime. But R and I had a respite this weekend in sunny southern New Jersey! It was the height of the fall color there, and 70 degrees to boot.

We were celebrating the nuptials of my friends D and TB. Big shout outs to the Q family and the E's (and their penis-bone related gift!) It was great to see my friends, and our peeps D and SW from north Jersey drove down to visit, as well! Philly is a great city.

Mr. and Ms. W were helping R and I celebrate an event of our own; our recent engagement! It's true.

Did we see creatures on the night of our engagement? Oh yes! R took me along the Stone Arch Bridge in Minneapolis, where we were startled by a raccoon exiting a garbage can and slinking through some fence posts! R spotted him first. The raccoon stared cutely at us for a while, but unfortunately not long enough for R to snap a picture. (His excuse for getting me down there was to test the nighttime photo capabilities of his new camera.) After I said "Yes!" we spotted a bunny, too.

Ok, going back to the New Jersey crowd. T and D are currently in St. Lucia, and requested I write a critter report about the creatures of that island.

I'm afraid it will be brief, though, buddies!

I hope you two will check out the rainforest preserve on the island. Frigate birds and boa constrictors live there, along with leatherback turtles (although their egg-laying period ended this summer) and maybe you'll see the Jacquot, or St. Lucia parrot.

The Maria Islands are nearby and are a nature preserve. More turtles can be found there, along with what is considered the world's rarest snake, the Kouwes snake.

I hope you see lizards, toads and frogs, too. Please think of us northerners as you lounge on the beach!

Hopefully more critter stories will follow in short order! Thanks for your patience.

In South Jersey the word water is pronounced "wuter",
Wendell

|

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!