Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing photos in a set called Personal Photos. Make your own badge here.

9:08 p.m. - 2005-04-02
Leapin' Lizards!
Greetings! One of the funniest things that happened to me this week occurred while I was teaching. I have a student who likes to yell or sing as he approaches my studio. This week I heard him holler, "Wendell, do you want to see my lizard?"

And indeed, on his wrist was perched a tiny lizard! I think he was surprised how excited I was by this indoor wildlife sighting!

It reminded me of the first time I saw a lizard in the actual outdoors. In high school and college I enjoyed finding isolated locations to tan in the buff. (In my hometown.) On this occasion, I was in a sandy spot near my house. As I settled on a blanket, arranged my book and water bottle, I noticed the quick movement of a little lizard! This was very exciting.

Upon doing the research for this page, however, I did not find a picture of the lizard I saw. If you go to the WI or MN DNR pages, the primary lizards found are smooth and glassy-looking skinks, such as the Five-Lined Skink (Eumeces fasciatus), Northern Prairie Skink (Eumeces septetrionalis) and the Prairie Racerunner (Cnemidophorus sexlineatus viridus). But the one I saw had rough-textured skin. So I went to the IL DNR website, and found listed a Fence lizard (Sceloporus undulatus). So that's my theory on the small lizard I saw back in the day.

I think I got poison ivy from that particular tanning session.

Anyway, all the lizards listed above are of course reptiles. As such they are diurnal (active during the warm daytime).

Lizards are mostly insectivores, and live in rocky areas, glacially deposited gravel beds, sawdust, and under rocks and logs. They can occasionally be found on houses, looking for insectoids to eat.

Female lizards lay eggs under logs or rocks, and guard them until they hatch. Baby lizards are from 1 to 2 inches long.

During mating season, some lizards change color! The Northern Prairie Skink males turn orange when love is in the air! (Wouldn't this be convenient for humans? "Can't you see, dear, my colors are all wrong for nooky tonight."

Color is a factor in identifying the age of a lizard you might see in MN: the Five-lined Skink. If you see a shiny striped lizard with a bright blue tail, you'll know it is a juvenile of that species! Five-lined Skinks grow to be about eight inches long.

Lizards are excellent meals for raccoons, foxes, opposum, snakes and hawks!

Hmmm, not much to write about lizards. Let's see, the Prairie racerunner can run 18 mph! I think all these lizards will drop their tails when they are grabbed. Since regrowing the tail is a taxing process, lizards who are doing so might not expend the energy to mate that year.

Tomorrow R and I are going to the zoo! I'll look forward to sharing more critter info after that excursion.

Your assignment for the summer: Find Wendell some lizards!

love,
W

|

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!